Stage Specific Signs Of Osteporosis

Osteoporosis condition progresses throughout four stages, during which bones break down quicker than new bone forms. Learn more about the four stages of osteoporosis.

  1. Stage 1 Osteoporosis

The early stages of osteoporosis can begin at around age 30, but it often does not cause noticeable symptoms or problems. This is the point at which old bone may begin to be broken down at the same rate that new bone is made. As long as this rate stays constant, the bones will not weaken significantly.

  1. Stage 2 Osteoporosis

Like the first stage, the second stage of osteoporosis is also fairly hard to notice. It mostly occurs after the age of 35, although can begin later in life. In this stage, old bone is broken down slightly faster than new bone is formed.

Although this faster rate of resorption can be recognized on bone density tests, bones are not significantly more likely to fracture because their strength has not deteriorated. Because of this, few tests are performed, and few cases are detected.

  1. Stage 3 Osteoporosis

The first time that osteoporosis becomes obvious and noticeable is at the third stage, referred to as osteopenia, which usually affects people aged 45 to 55 years old. It is at this point that bones weaken to the point that they can begin to break under stress that would normally not affect healthy, strong bones.

Most often, osteopenia will be diagnosed during this stage. The majority of cases are not diagnosed earlier, because there are no indications of a problem until bones begin to break easily. Once the third stage is reached, tests reveal low bone mineral density characteristic of osteoporosis.

  1. Stage 4 Osteoporosis

There are fewer distinct differences between stage 3 and stage 4 osteoporosis than between some of the early stages of osteoporosis, but in general, the fourth stage is when bones begin to fracture and cause significant distress.

Some symptoms of stage 4 osteoporosis are constant pain from small stress fractures, disabilities, and spinal deformities. Since the spine carries so much weight, it commonly experiences fractures and a form of slumping.

To know more about ‘Infertility Myths and Facts’, Click Here To know more about how WhiteCoats can help you in your professional advancement, visit Want to set up an online consultation for your practice, Click Here

#symptoms #treatment #bonedensitytests #fourstagesofosteoporosis #Stage4Osteoporosis #Stage2Osteoporosis #osteoporosis #Stage3Osteoporosis #Stage1Osteoporosis #management